Friday, 28 September 2012


Guernsey is a British Crown dependency in the English Channel off the coast of Normandy. The Bailiwick of Guernsey embraces not only all 10 parishes on the Island of Guernsey, but also the islands of Herm, Jethou, and Lihou. The Bailiwick includes Alderney and Sark,  each having its own parliament. Guernsey is neither the part of the UK nor the part of the EU. The total area of Alderney, Guernsey, Herm, Sark, and some other smaller islands is around 78 km2 and a coastline of about 8 km. By itself, the island of Guernsey has a total area of 65 km2

Monica thought this postcard would display the coastline of Guernsey very authentically and artistically, so she decided to send this one instead of some other. I totally agree! It's the watercolor picture by Charles Coker showing Petit Port Bay. Maaany thanks to Monica for such a great postcard ! It'd be nice to visit it some day ;)

No comments:

Post a Comment