Friday, 26 October 2012


Patrick was travelling to Aruba some time ago and sent me this postcard during his visit. It says nothing about the name of the lighthouse on the back,  but a recipe for a Mango Coctail ;)
I don't know much about Aruba, and probably you doesn's know a lot as well, so here come a few important information... Aruba is a 33-kilometer-long island in the southern Caribbean Sea, located 27 km north of the coast of Venezuela. Together with Bonaire and Curcao, it forms a group referred to as the ABC islands. Aruba and all the Dutch islands in the Antilles together, are commonly referred to as the Netherlands Antilles (or the Dutch Antilles). Aruba is one of the four constituent countries that form the Kingdom of the Netherlands, together with the Netherlands, Curcao and Saint Maarten whose citizens share a single nationality: Dutch citizen. Aruba has no administrative subdivisions, but for census purposes is divided into eight regions. Its capital is Oranjestad. 


Thanks, Patric! 

No comments:

Post a Comment