Monday, 11 March 2013


I received a multiview from the US capital city, and I realized that I have no Washington postcards on the blog, so why not to show you this official Karen sent me ;)
Washington, D.C., formally the District of Columbia is the capital of the United States. On July 16, 1790, the Residence Act approved the creation of a capital district located along the Potomac River on the country's East Coast. As permitted by the U.S. Constitution, the District is under the exclusive jurisdiction of the United States Congress and is therefore not a part of any U.S. state. The states of Maryland and Virginia each donated land to form the federal district, which included the preexisting settlements of Georgetown and Alexandria; however, Congress returned the Virginia portion in 1846. Named in honor of George Washington, the City of Washington was founded in 1791 to serve as the new national capital. Congress created a single municipal government for the whole District of Columbia after the American Civil War.
We can see the White House (top right), the official residence and principal workplace of the President of the United States since John Adams in 1800.
The Washington Monument (in the middle) is an obelisk on the National Mall in Washington, D.C., built to commemorate the first American president, General George Washington. The monument, made of marble, granite, and bluestone gneiss, is both the world's tallest stone structure and the world's tallest obelisk. Taller monumental columns exist, but they are neither all stone nor true obelisks.

No comments:

Post a Comment