Wednesday, 29 May 2013

Saba, Caribbean Netherlands

The Caribbean Netherlands refers to a group of three special municipalities of the Netherlands that are located in the Caribbean Sea: the islands of BonaireSint Eustatius, and Saba, which are also known as the BES islands. Thanks, Victor! I would probably never get postcards from these exotic locations if you didn't help me.

Saba is the smallest special municipality of the Netherlands. It consists largely of the potentially active volcano Mount Scenery (870 m), the highest point within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Saba, including the islet of Green Island, became a special municipality within the country of the Netherlands after the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles in 2010. The island has a land area of 13 km². At the 2001 Netherlands Antilles census, the population was 1,824 inhabitants. Its current towns and major settlements are The Bottom (the capital), Windwardside, Hell's Gate (officially named "Zion's Hill" after complaints from the church) and St. Johns.


  1. vidim i ti imaš svog pc-andjela ;)