Saturday, 19 May 2012


Turkmenistan is a one of the six independent Turkic states in Central Asia. Turkmenistan declared independence on 27 October 199, after 69 years as part of the Soviet Union. Today, the Turkmen government operates as a single-party system.
Over 80% of the country is covered by the Karakum (Black Sand) Desert. The Turkmen shore along the Caspian Sea is 1 768 kilometers long, but, as the Caspian Sea is entirely landlocked, there is no access to the ocean.
The capital and the largest city of Turkmenistan is Ashgabat, meaning "City of Love" in Persian. It has a population of around 1 million people, primarily Turkmen population, with many ethnic minorities. Apart from being a government and administrative centre of the country, Ashgabat is also a major stop on the Trans-Caspian railway.

I'm so happy to have a postcard from Turkmenistan in my collection. Thanks to Sonya and Travis who sent it to me. You have to check their awesome travelling blog:

No comments:

Post a Comment