Friday, 4 October 2013

Puerto Rico

Here comes an aerial view from Puerto Rico! I've made so little progress with my missing countries these months, so this card from Norma came as a glimmer of hope that all the countries will be crossed out one day. Puerto Rico is an unincorporated territory of the United States, located in the northeastern Caribbean. It comprises an archipelago that includes the main island of Puerto Rico and a number of smaller islands. Columbus named the island San Juan Bautista and, eventually, traders and other maritime visitors came to refer to the entire island as "Puerto Rico" (Spanish for "rich port"), and "San Juan" became the name of the main trading port. The primary language of the island is Spanish, but both Spanish and English are official languages. The population is about 3,6 million. San Jose is the largest and capital city.  Many many thanks to Norma :)

1 comment: